Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Eakin Named 2nd Team All Star, Lowry Scholastic Nominee

Calgary, AB - The Western Hockey League announced today the 2009-10 WHL Eastern Conference First and Second All-Star Teams and the Eastern Conference Finalists for the 2009-10 WHL Awards. The WHL Player of the Year finalists will be announced on Wednesday, April 14th, 2010.

The WHL Eastern Conference All-Star Teams are as follows:


Goaltender – Martin Jones (North Vancouver, BC), Calgary Hitmen
Defenceman – Michael Stone (Winnipeg, MB), Calgary Hitmen
Defenceman – Brayden McNabb (Davidson, SK), Kootenay Ice
Forward – Jordan Eberle (Regina, SK), Regina Pats *
Forward – Brayden Schenn (Saskatoon, SK), Brandon Wheat Kings
Forward – Brandon Kozun (Calgary, AB), Calgary Hitmen

Goaltender – Darcy Kuemper (Saskatoon, SK), Red Deer Rebels
Defenceman – Travis Hamonic (St. Malo, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings
Defenceman – Colby Robak (Gilbert Plains, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings
Forward – Dustin Sylvester (Kelowna, BC), Kootenay Ice
Forward – Matt Calvert (Brandon, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings
Forward – Cody Eakin (Winnipeg, MB), Swift Current Broncos
* indicates unanimous selection

The WHL announced the Eastern Conference Finalists in the following categories.

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Burnaby, BC), Red Deer Rebels

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy Eastern Conference –
Martin Jones (North Vancouver, BC), Calgary Hitmen

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy Eastern Conference
Michael Stone (Winnipeg, MB), Calgary Hitmen

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy Eastern Conference
Jason Bast (Moose Jaw, SK) Moose Jaw Warriors

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman TrophyEastern Conference
Adam Lowry (Calgary, AB) Swift Current Broncos

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial TrophyEastern Conference
Mark Holick, Kootenay Ice

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial TrophyEastern Conference
Kelly McCrimmon, Brandon Wheat Kings

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy
Matt Fraser (Red Deer, AB) Kootenay Ice

WHL Marketing / Public Relations AwardEastern Conference
Brandon Wheat Kings, Rick Dillabough

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial TrophyCalgary Hitmen:
GP – 72 W – 52 L – 17 OTL – 1 SL – 2 Pts – 107

WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy
Brandon Kozun – (Calgary, AB) Calgary Hitmen
GP – 65 G – 32 A – 75 Pts – 107

The winners of these awards along with the WHL Player of the Year will be announced at the
2010 WHL Awards Luncheon in Edmonton, Alberta on Wednesday, April 28th, 2010.
The WHL will announce the Western Conference All-Stars and Awards Finalists tomorrow Thursday, March 18th.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

How does Stone get nominated. He put up less points than Robak and his +/- was 50 worse...