Friday, December 15, 2006

World Junior Team Announced

Here's the story courtesy from . . . hot off the press.

Hockey Canada has released the last six players from its selection roster for the World Junior Hockey Championship, with Lewiston goaltender Jonathan Bernier, London Knights netminder Steve Mason, Brandon Wheat Kings defenceman Dustin Kohn, Brendan Mikkelson of the Vancouver Giants, Mississauga Ice Dogs forward Cody Bass and Gatineau forward Claude Giroux going back to their junior clubs.
Other cuts from the final roster on Thursday included goaltender Trevor Cann of the Peterborough Petes, Guelph defenceman Drew Doughty, blueliner Keaton Ellerby of the Kamloops Blazers, Saginaw defenceman Patrick McNeill, Brandon Wheat Kings forward Codey Burki, centre Ben Maxwell of the Kootenay Ice, Acadie-Bathurst's Mathieu Perreault, Prince George winger Devin Setoguchi, Chris Stewart of the Kingston Frontenacs, Quebec Remparts forward Angelo Esposito and Oshawa Generals forward John Tavares.
Mason, Giroux, Tavares, Esposito, Doughty, Cann, Ellerby, Maxwell and Perreault are eligible to return and try out for the 2008 National Junior Team.
The 2007 roster features 11 players from Brent Sutter's squad that took gold in Vancouver last January. Two 17-year-old players - forward Sam Gagner of the London Knights and Calgary Hitmen defenceman Karl Alzner - are already touted as top prospects for the 2007 NHL Entry Draft.

Canada plays its first game of the 2007 World Juniors on Boxing Day against the host Swedes.

Here's the final World Junior roster:

Leland Irving
Carey Price

Karl Alzner
Luc Bourdon
Cody Franson
Kristopher Letang
Ryan Parent
Kris Russell
Marc Staal

Daniel Bertram
Marc-Andre Cliche
Andrew Cogliano
Steve Downie
Sam Gagner
Darren Helm
Bryan Little
Brad Marchand
Kenndal McArdle
James Neal
Ryan O'Marra
Tom Pyatt
Jonathan Toews

No comments: