Monday, December 03, 2007

Watching the Wire....**UDPATE** Selection Camp Named

Hockey Canada is set to announce today the 40 man roster for the World Junior evaluation camp. The camp is set for Calgary beginning a week from today.

We'll keep you posted....



Here it is (from


Hockey Canada and the Canadian Hockey League (CHL) announced on Monday that 37 of Canada’s best junior-aged hockey players (born in 1988 or later) have been invited to take part in Canada’s National Junior Selection Camp from December 10-14, 2007 at the Father David Bauer Olympic Arena in Calgary, AB.

“Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence, which includes our Under-17 and Under-18 Programs, has provided many of these players the preparation and experience for to deal with the rigors of the upcoming World Juniors and high paced international competition,” said Al Murray, Head Scout for Canada’s National Men’s Teams. “The quality and skill of the 37 players invited to the camp next week is a testament of the hard work, commitment and development of all those involved in the Canadian minor hockey and junior hockey system.”

Canada will play its first game of the 2008 IIHF World Junior Championship on Boxing Day, December 26th versus the Czech Republic at 2:00pm ET, a game that will be broadcast LIVE by TSN/RDS and on the FAN radio network (check local listings).Canada has medaled in nine straight World Junior Championships including: gold medal performances in 2007, 2006 and 2005, silver medals in 2004, 2003, 2002, 1999 and bronze medals in 2001 and 2000.

Jonathan Bernier
Leland Irving
Steve Mason
Tyson Sexsmith

Karl Alzner
Andrew Bodnarchuk
Drew Doughty
Keaton Ellerby
Josh Godfrey
Thomas Hickey
Kevin Marshall
Logan Pyett
Luke Schenn
Brendan Smith
PK Subban

Zachary Boychuk
Cory Emmerton
Angelo Esposito
Colton Gillies
Claude Giroux
Matthew Halischuk
Zach Hamill
Riley Holzapfel
Stefan Legein
Brett MacLean
Brad Marchand
Shawn Matthias
Mathieu Perreault
Wayne Simmonds
Nick Spaling
Steven Stamkos
Brandon Sutter
John Tavares
Kyle Turris
Dana Tyrell
Ryan White

Canada’s 2008 National Junior Team Selection Camp Breakdown‘By The Numbers’

• Returning 2007 National Junior Team players:o 3 - Karl Alzner, Leland Irving, Brad Marchand

• Players who represented Canada in the 2007 Canada/Russia Super Series: o 22G – Jonathan Bernier, Leland Irving, Steve MasonD – Karl Alzner, Drew Doughty, Keaton Ellerby, Josh Godfrey, Thomas Hickey, Logan Pyett, Luke Schenn, Ty Wishart F – Zach Boychuk, Cory Emmerton, Colton Gillies, Claude Giroux, Zach Hamill, Stefan Legein, Brad Marchand, Brandon Sutter, John Tavares, Kyle Turris, Dana Tyrell

Where the are playing:
15 players from the Western Hockey League (WHL)
13 players from the Ontario Hockey League (OHL)
7 players from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL)
2 players from U.S. College Hockey (NCAA)


No comments: